There and Back Again…A Tummy’s Tale

Here is a picture of me one week before I got pregnant with Mansie.

 

Here is a picture of me one week past my due date, about 8 hours before Mansie was born.

So as you can see I got pretty big.  My baby weighted almost 10 pounds.  I gained around 40  pounds while pregnant.  Bare in mind I taught Zumba until I was 38 weeks and ate a good diet.  But I still got huge. I want my flat tummy back.  I know I can do it, but I also know that it will take work.  Last week I was at Trader Joes.  I started chatting with another mom who had a 12 week old who weighed like 20 pounds.  Seriously, she was bigger than my 7 month old.  Anyways, the mom turned to me and said, “It’s liked she sucked all of the weight off of me.  I weigh less now than I did before I got pregnant.  All I do is eat.”  I wanted to punch her in the face.

With both babies I lost about 15  with no effort.  Shot, with Mansie, 10 of those pounds were him.  The remaining weight will only come off with diet and exercise.  Breastfeeding alone doesn’ t do it for me.

So now I am 7 months postpartum and I’ve lost a lot of the weight.  I’ve been working out, teaching classes, and sporadically counting my calories.  But I’m still not where I want to be.  It’s time to dig in.  I want to be able to sit down and not have to tuck my tummy into my jeans.  I want to be able to fit into all of my clothes.  I want to look good in a bikini.  I will do it and I’m willing to work hard.  Childbirth is hard and I’ve done that twice (with no drugs, mind you).  I surely can do this.

Flat tummy…..I’m coming for you.

One thought on “There and Back Again…A Tummy’s Tale

Leave a Reply

